Petersfield's new mayor has spoken of his pride of being elected the town’s first citizen.

Councillor JC Crissey was elected at a meeting of the Petersfield Town Council.

He said: “It was with immense pride and gratitude that I accepted the greatest civic honour in leading such a special town.  

“I am humbled by the trust placed in me by the council and the residents of our wonderful town.”

Cllr Crissey was last year’s deputy mayor and has a wealth of experience and a deep commitment to serving the community.

He is married with two daughters. He and his family have lived in Petersfield since 1991 and he has been chief executive of London Pictures Limited since 2002 and before that time he was a sales/marketing director for IBM for 14 years. 

He has a BA in marketing, an MBA, is a Fellow with the Chartered Institute of Marketing and a Phd at Royal Holloway University of London. 

He is also a life member of the British Academy of Film and Television.  

The council said it was looking forward to Cllr Crissey leading the town ‘into a new era of progress and prosperity’.

Cllr Crissey replaces former mayor Peter Clist, whose term of office has come to an end.

A statement from the town council said: “As town mayor, Councillor JC Crissey will play a vital role in guiding the town’s development, representing the interests of Petersfield and its citizens.  

“With a clear vision and commitment to community engagement, mayor Crissey aims to foster an inclusive environment that encourages participation and promotes the town’s continued growth and prosperity.

“The town council extends its warmest congratulations to Cllr Crissey and all the elected committee members.  

“Together, under their leadership, we look forward to a fruitful and successful year ahead, working towards a better future for Petersfield and its residents.”

Committee chairmen and committee members were also elected at the meeting. Cllr Crissey will remain as the chairman of the Public Halls Committee.

Cllr Phil Shaw will resume his role as Finance and General Purposes Committee chairman, and Cllr Lesley Farrow returns as Grounds Committee chair.

Cllr Louise Bevan is the new Town Development Committee chair and Cllr John Lees is the new Planning Committee chairman.