Candidates line up for by-elections

Monday 8th August 2016 2:14 pm

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

A TOTAL of 19 different candidates will contest four by-elections across the Farnham area on Thursday, August 18.

Elections have been called in Farnham South (Surrey County Council), Farnham Castle (Waverley Borough Council and Farnham Town Council) and Farnham Shortheath & Boundstone (borough council only).

It comes after the resignations of county and borough councillor David Munro to concentrate on his role as Police and Crime Commissioner for Surrey and Paddy Blagden through ill-health.

The county council by-election for Mr Munro’s former seat in Farnham South has the broadest appeal with an electorate of around 10,000.

Accordingly, each of the UK’s four largest political parties (Conservatives, Labour, Lib Dem and UKIP) have put forward candidates in Farnham South, alongside Farnham Residents’ Jerry Hyman and independent Mark Westcott.

See next week’s Herald (on sale Thursday, August 11) for personal profiles of each of the six candidates contesting the vacant county council seat in Farnham South.

There is also great intrigue in the Shortheath & Boundstone borough by-election, however, where the Mayor of Farnham John Ward, now representing Waverley’s opposition Farnham Residents group, will go up against the man chosen by the Tories to contest the by-election ahead of him, Donal O’Neill.

Other sub-plots will see past councillor Stewart Edge (Lib Dems) attempt to return to the Waverley council chamber in the Farnham Castle by-election - counting Nicholas Le Gal (Conservatives), son of Surrey cabinet member Denise, among his rivals.

And in the accompanying town council by-election, another former councillor David Beaman will also attempt to regain his seat after a one-year absence - now representing Farnham Residents - with Labour’s 2015 South West Surrey parliamentary candidate Howard Kaye also contesting this seat.

Polling stations will open from 7am until 10pm on Thursday, August 18. The deadlines for new voter registrations and applications for postal votes have now passed but applications for proxy votes can still be submitted before 5pm on Wednesday, August 10.

For more information visit the website or call Waverley’s elections team on 01483 523116.

The validated candidates across all four by-elections in Farnham are as follows:

Surrey County Council - Farnham South

• Joanne Aylwin (Lib Dem)

• Paul Chapman (UKIP)

• Jerry Hyman (Farnham Residents)

• Wyatt Ramsdale (Conservatives)

• Mark Westcott (Independent)

• Fabian Wood (Labour)

Waverley Borough Council - Farnham Castle

• Stewart Edge (Lib Dem)

• George Hesse (UKIP)

• Jerry Hyman (Farnham Residents)

• Nicholas Le Gal (Conservatives)

Waverley Borough Council - Farnham Shortheath & Boundstone

• Jim Burroughs (UKIP)

• Sylvia Jacobs (Lib Dems)

• Andrew Jones (Independent)

• Donal O’Neill (Conservatives)

• John Ward (Farnham Residents)

Farnham Town Council - Farnham Castle

• David Beaman (Farnham Residents)

• Matthew Elliott (Conservatives)

• George Hesse (UKIP)

• Howard Kaye (Labour)


To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0