SIX candidates have thrown their hats in the ring to contest by-elections in the Farnham Castle borough and town council wards later this month.

Residents in Farnham Castle ward will go to the polls on Thursday, May 24, from 7am until 10pm, to elect a successor to Farnham Residents councillor John Williamson, who recently resigned after moving away from the area.

Candidates for both by-elections have been confirmed.

In the Farnham Castle borough by-election, they are: Jo Aylwin (Lib Dems), David Beaman (Farnham Residents), Rebecca Kaye (Labour), Rashida Nasir (Conservative), Mark Westcott (Independent).

In the Farnham Castle town by-election, they are: Jo Aylwin (Lib Dems), George Hesse (Farnham Residents), Rebecca Kaye (Labour), Rashida Nasir (Conservative).

Poll cards providing polling station information for those electors eligible to vote will be despatched around May 3.

New applications to register to vote must be made by May 8 online at or by contacting Waverley Borough Council’s elections team on 01483 523116.

You do not have to register to vote if you have received a poll card for these elections. 

Applications to vote by proxy must be received by 5pm on May 16 2018. Application forms can be downloaded from or can be requested by contacting the elections team.