GRAYSWOOD Cricket Club won the I’Anson Committee Plate with a 74-run victory against Headley at Tongham Recreation Ground on Sunday.

Grayswood lost opening batsman Stephen Nathan cheaply for one, but Amaan Arif (53) and Peter Millard (54) added 69 for the second wicket in quick time.

Jon Eales scored a quickfire 23 off 16 balls, and Millard was run out off the last ball of the innings as Grayswood scored a competitive 154 for five off their allotted 20 overs.

Jack Baldwin (one for 15) was the pick of the Headley attack.

Grayswood got off to a dream start in the field when Eales dismissed Matthew Joyce for a second-ball duck.

Tim Canning (13) and Ben Homewood (nine) took Headley to 39 for two, but Tyler Ward (four for 12) ripped the heart out of Headley’s innings with an inspired spell of bowling.

Headley lost five wickets for 16 runs as they crashed to 55 for seven, and the writing was on the wall.

James Baker (16) and John Canning (10) added 25 for the eighth wicket, but the last three wickets fell quickly as Headley were bowled out for 80 in the 18th over.

Sunday was a successful day for Headley though, as their first team beat Puttenham and Wanborough by seven runs in the Ian Webster Plate.

Headley scored 140 for nine off their allotted 20 overs, thanks mainly to a superb innings by Callum Francis (75).

Aks Ilyas scored 48 not out for Puttenham, but they fell short as they finished their 20 overs on 133 for six.