THE ANNUAL Farnham Sports Awards have been a celebration of local sporting people and sporting achievements since 1981.

During that time many internationals have been recognised as well as a huge array of other achievements - and plenty of unsung heroes.

Past winners of the main sports personality award have included the England cricketer Graham Thorpe, England rugby player Jonny Wilkinson and Paralympian Rachel Morris.

Sports Council secretary Sue Keogh said: "We have a good number of categories that meet most needs for recognising talent, success or voluntary commitment - and every single club in Farnham has the potential to nominate in one or more categories.

"So our message is simple - it’s an easy process so please nominate!"

Organised by Farnham Sports Council, the annual awards initiative provides an opportunity for talented and dedicated sports people and volunteers to be recognised in a number of categories with one new award category - the environmental impact award - introduced this year:

The categories are:

* Sports Personality of the Year

* Young Sports Personality of the Year

* Sports Club of the Year

* Coach of the Year

* Sports Team of the Year

* Young Sports Team of the Year

* Disability Sports Award

* Service to Sport Award

* Volunteer of the Year

* Young Volunteer of the Year

* Environmental Impact Award

Nominees must live in Farnham or be part of a school or club in the town, and achievements must be between January 1, 2021 and December 31, 2021.

The person making the nomination simply needs to describe, in between 100 to 300 words, how the nominee meets the criteria for the specific award.

Further information on the criteria and how to enter can be found on the sports council’s website at

Sue added: "Last year, Farnham were the only local sports council in Surrey to hold awards during the pandemic, albeit virtually and with fewer categories.

"Among other high achievers, we were delighted to celebrate Farnham Rugby Club as the Sports Club of the Year, Jane Probett from Farnham Runners as the Sporting Inspiration of the Year and Oliver Stratton-Brown from Frensham Sailing Club for his outstanding achievements."

The deadline for entries for this year’s sports awards is midnight on Sunday, January 16, 2022 and the presentation of awards will be held at Farnham Rugby Club on the evening of Monday, February 7.