Thirty-four Farnham Runners members took on the challenge of the traditional hilly, partly off-road, club championship 10km race.

Members have competed with each other over this course since 1992 and today there are ten trophies and shields to be won, including two for the overall men’s and ladies’ winners.

Founder and current member John de Moraes paid a surprise visit and chairman Nicola O’Connor invited him to present some of the awards.

This year the championship was able to be held again at its usual summer date and conditions were good for running, not too warm and with little wind.

The event was all expertly organised by race director Craig Tate-Grimes and numerous marshals and helpers generously gave up their time so it could take place.

A beaming James Clarke chalked up a fifth victory in a very good time of 37.45 to take the senior men’s shield and overall men’s trophy, while new member Emma Patton was the delighted female winner.

Wheelchair athlete Rachel Morris propelled herself round the course unaided, even up the steep hill in the woods to finish in under an hour.

Neil Ambrose retained his M40 crown in 41.04, while Colin Addison won the M50s for the third year, not far back in 41.17, afterwards pointing out he had only one year left in this age group!

Fourth over the line was Chris Raby who was delighted to clock a new M60 record by 45 seconds, 41.55. Terry Steadman won the M70 shield for the fourth time in 1:00:18.

The men who took part but didn’t win this time were: Ivan Chunnett 42.51 (second M40), Charles Ashby 43.58 (second M50), Keith Marshall 44.15 (second M60), Richard Strode 44.42 (third M50), Matthew Wernham 44.59 (third M60), Richard Denby 47.00 (fourth M50), James Goodwin 47.33 (fifth M50), Chris Cramp 47.38 (sixth M50), Peter Callow 48.48 (fourth M60), Bjorn Steinberg 50.09 (fourth M40), Tony Hollands 51.52 (fifth M60), Mike Pink 51.57 (fifth M40), Howard Inns 1:04.39 (sixth M60), Robert Drummond 1:05.42 (second M70).

The ladies’ overall winner and F35 champion, new member Emma Patton, clocked 45.31. Miriam Foster was second F35 in 46.19, with third F35 Catherine Timson just one minute back in 47.16.

First F55 Linda Tyler was next in 47.57, followed by first F45 Sue Taylor, recovering from injury, in 48.36.

Marissa Luttrell finished second F45 in 53.24, followed by F65 Jane Georghiou in 53.59, second F55 Kay Copeland in 54.59 and first senior lady Laura Quin in 55.39.

Other ladies who took on the challenging course were Lina Haines (57.18, fourth F35), Tori Shaw (57.26, third F45) and Rachel Morris (59.36, fifth F35).

Clair Bailey and Kate Townsend volunteered to be the tail runners in 1:05.47.

Craig Tate-Grimes thanked all those who had helped in setting the course, marshalling and time keeping and to Carolyn Wickham who took the photos.

A special thanks went to Craig for all his hard work in organising the whole event.

To find out more about Farnham Runners please see the website

By Jane Georghiou